Rep. Dent receives 2017 National Child Health Advocate of the Year Award

Rep. Tom Dent has received the 2017 Advocate of the Year Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). The award was one of only two distributed by the AAP across the country, the other going to fellow Washington state legislator Rep. Tana Senn, D-Mercer Island.

“By working to obtain funding for adolescent depression screening, postpartum depression screening, and an additional child psychiatry fellowship position, and integrating behavioral health into schools and primary care settings, Rep. Dent is ensuring that all of Washington's children have the opportunity to reach their full potential,” said Sarah Rafton, executive director of the Washington Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (WCAAP).

“I am truly humbled to receive this award, knowing I was one of only two recipients. Children's mental health issues are not a partisan issue. It doesn't have anything to do with politics and everything to do with solutions,” said Dent, R-Moses Lake. “I have a child who battled mental health issues and we have had foster kids who have also struggled with mental health. It has helped me gain an understanding of the issues and how important it is we do a better job of addressing the mental health needs of our youth.”

The AAP Child Health Advocate Award recognizes the significant accomplishments of public officials and private sector advocates who have served as a voice for children in state and local government. The award honors these individuals for their contributions to child health and safety and serves as a stimulus for continued action in child advocacy.

Reps. Dent and Senn were nominated by the Washington Chapter of the AAP's Legislative Committee co-chair, Lelach Rave, MD, FAAP, for their leadership on the Children's Mental Health Work Group and efforts to advance child mental health legislation.

Rep. Dent receives Advocate of the Year award from the American Academy of Pediatrics.

PHOTO: Rep. Tom Dent with Pediatrics' Legislative Committee co-chair, Lelach Rave, MD, FAAP.



Washington State House Republican Communications